View Full Version : walk and take second
04-11-2008, 07:07 AM
In a game on wednesday @ Hac a player walked and since there was a runner on third she took second. I thought you were not allowed to stop on the way. That seems to be taunting. The ump said she is allowed 1 stop. Any body know the rule?
04-11-2008, 07:37 AM
Another great question and the answer is.... (drum roll) - it depends on where the ball is!
The Look Back Rule covers this type of play:
The only time the look back rule can be in effect, is when the pitcher has the ball in the circle and isn't making a play, faking a throw or making a motion toward a play. If the pitcher has the ball in the circle a runner is allowed to stop once (for a VERY BRIEF moment) and then either continue on to the next base or go immediately back to the base she possessed. If her stop is at the base, then that is all she can do. Any play or fake of a play by the pitcher resets the whole thing and runners are free to do what they want until the pitcher freezes the ball in the circle again.
Now, often the catcher holds the ball or the P has the ball outside of the circle. When this happens, runners can advance, stop, dance around or do whatever they want until the P has the ball in the circle.
I can only assume from the original post that the ball was in the circle. So if the batter-runner drew a walk... jogged to first, didn't stop on the base... started toward second... she would be allowed to stop once for about 1 second and then must immediately advance or retreat.
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.